Home  ›  About  ›  Introduction



Since its founding in 1920, Tsinghua University’s Law School has graduated many prominent legal scholars, judges and lawyers. Among its ranks are the late Judges Tieya Wang and Ruao Mei, and Justice Duanmu Zheng of the Supreme People’s Court. The restructuring of the higher education system in China led to the Law School’s merger with Peking University and other universities in 1952. In 1995, Tsinghua Law School was reestablished to answer the call for establishing and enhancing the rule of law in China. Backed by the rich history, academic strength, and reputation of Tsinghua University, the Law School has progressed to become a leading institute in legal education and research in China.
Comprised of state-of-art facilities and the finest faculty members in China, many of whom have foreign legal backgrounds, Tsinghua Law School has attracted over 1,300 students who are currently enrolled in its various undergraduate and graduate programs. Ming Li Building, a name given to the Law School by Mr. Yiren Rong, former Vice President of the People’s Republic of China, houses the entire faculty. Construction of the building was funded by the “Friends of Tsinghua Law School”, a trust fund established by Mr. Zhijian Rong, Justice Andrew Kwok-Nang Li, Ms. Elsie Leung, and Professor Albert Chen. Within the complex is a comprehensive Law Library, moot court, online legal information center, computer labs, classrooms and faculty offices. Tsinghua Law School prides itself in its top-notch education programs and facilities, and strives to provide the best learning conditions for its students and scholars.